Dask is used and developed by individuals at a variety of institutions. It sits within the broader Python numeric ecosystem commonly referred to as PyData or SciPy.


Conversation happens in the following places:

  1. Usage questions are directed to Stack Overflow with the #dask tag. Dask developers monitor this tag and get e-mails whenever a question is asked.
  2. Bug reports and feature requests are managed on the GitHub issue tracker
  3. Chat occurs on at for general conversation and for developer conversation. Note that because gitter chat is not searchable by future users we discourage usage questions and bug reports on gitter and instead ask people to use Stack Overflow or GitHub.
  4. Weekly developer meeting usually happens at Thursday 4pm UTC (11am in New York, 8am in Los Angeles, 12am in Beijing) at with meeting notes on a publicly viewable document Subscribe to this public calendar to receive updates if the meeting is rescheduled or canceled.

Asking for help

We welcome usage questions and bug reports from all users, even those who are new to using the project. There are a few things you can do to improve the likelihood of quickly getting a good answer.

  1. Ask questions in the right place. In particular we strongly prefer the use of StackOverflow and Github issues over Gitter chat. Github and StackOverflow are more easily searchable by future users and so is more efficient for everyone’s time. Gitter chat is strictly reserved for developer and community discussion.
  2. Create a minimal example. It is ideal to create minimal, complete, verifiable examples. This significantly reduces the time that answerers spend understanding your situation and so results in higher quality answers more quickly.